Creating dmg's and pckg's for deployment via Casper Help Please!!

nmilano
New Contributor

Hi everyone,

I'm a super newbie to the JAMF Nation software and the Casper Suite. I really need some simple instructions on how best to use an existing dmg (Sibelius 7) and if possible tweak it so that I can specify a licence server in the package as well as other stuff. Once this is done how then can I get the dmg or pkg into Casper admin for deployment?

This might sound like dumb questions but as I said I am a super newbie to all of this and the JAMF documentation dosen't really cut it when trying to explain these processes in laymens terms. Any assistance would be kindly appreciated.

Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4

mike_paul
Contributor III
Contributor III

Hello Nicholas, Welcome to the Nation. You posed a good question that gets brought up often. For anybody that knows me, i get long winded so I apologize for the length of this post but there is a lot of things to consider when building packages.

As many admins in the past have expressed, package building and deployment is more of an art than anything. There are multiple routes to accomplish goals and you just need to figure out what works best for you and the software you are trying to deploy.

Although the instructions seem high level, we do have some step by step instructions for building packages (pages 62 of the Administrator Guide - http://www.jamfsoftware.com/sites/default/files/Casper_Suite_Administrators_Guide.pdf) and uploading packages (page 114 of the Admin Guide or page 13 of the Quick Start Guide - http://www.jamfsoftware.com/sites/default/files/Casper_Suite_8.7_QuickStart_Guide_for_Client_Managem...)

But it is important to understand what the Casper Suite can work with in regards to 3rd party installers.