Deep Freeze & Fusion Drive Woes

daryll_holland
New Contributor

Newbie here, thanks for all the awesome support that this site provides.

Now, my team are reasonably new to Casper (and Macs in general!) and are using it to deploy applications to various student labs of Mac computers spread about the UK. Long story short, it's working great and we just set about Deep Freezing them to reset the configuration upon reboot. We've discovered far too late in the process that Deep Freeze (we're using the Cloud edition) doesn't support fusion drives which I really wish we'd picked up, or were told about at the pre-sales stage.

Regardless, we're going to attempt to make it work by splitting the drives and here is my question. Has anyone else done this that might be able to offer some insight into how they managed it? I came across [https://jamfnation.jamfsoftware.com/discussion.html?id=9366](this) thread but it seems to render the SSD useless.

Has anyone used the SSD for the OS and stored all applications on the larger slower drive or something like that? Any constructive advice greatly received!

7 REPLIES 7

CasperSally
Valued Contributor II

Why use deepfreeze? Lock down computers with config profiles, delete user profiles if you need to.

Josh_OKState
New Contributor

What would you recommend locking down in config profiles? We use Centurion but it also is not compatible with fusion/SSD and half of my labs are 5k's...

CasperSally
Valued Contributor II

If users aren't administrators, that's half the battle as a lot of things require admin permissions.

We block out certain system prefs, block what folders apps can launch from (so students can't run call of duty from the desktop, for example), set homepages, just some examples.

Josh_OKState
New Contributor