Development & Testing of DEPNotify Script?

damionbroadaway
New Contributor II

Hello there.

Full Disclosure:

I am a dev tasked with helping write the script but have very limited knowledge on Jamf. However, I do have access to Jamf Pro. If this is the wrong place or wrong location I am sorry. I have looked for documentation for doing this and haven't found any.

What is the most efficient way to develop and test a DEPNotify script?

Current Process:

• Have a VMWare instance of the latest macOS with serial number already added to Pre-Stage.
  • Take a shapshot before DEPNotify runs.
  • Reload VMWare snapshot to test changes.

Current Pain Point:

I have to take the snapshot pretty early in the setup process before the Profiles get installed. This means it can take several minutes to get through just to test any change.

What are my options?

Is there a way to test locally via some type of emulation tool?

Is there way to call the DEPNotify.pkg directly in the VM?

I have done this but it just shows the last screen saying it's complete. Can it be reset?

Can I push an update out via Jamf that triggers it to run again?

I'm looking for any options that will help make this process more streamlined. Surely this isn't how people create complex provisioning scripts. Right?

8 REPLIES 8

steve_summers
Contributor III

When I was testing Nomad, I first built a clean Mac with AutoDMG (https://github.com/MagerValp/AutoDMG), then converted it, adding a model and serial number with VFuse (https://github.com/chilcote/vfuse) and then, before I even powered it on with VMware Fusion, took a snapshot.  That worked every time for a clean snapshot for DEP/ABM testing.  One note though: On AutoDMG, if you're creating a Big Sur 11.6 VM, your Mac has to be on that release level.