Enrolling 22 iPad 2's into JAMF for Management, not working.

wilfredov
New Contributor

Hi,

This might be a repeat question, but here's my story.

I'm fairly new to this MDM for Edu using iPads. Our school has a cart of iPad 2's that I believe where bought from an outside vendor some time ago. I'm currently using Apple Config 2 to "manage" them, but find Apple Config 2 lacking a little. My colleague and I have tried enrolling them for Jamf deployment, but have failed in doing so.

I was told this is the result of the iPads not being purchased through Apple, but rather via an external vendor. I'm not sure why this would be the problem and would love it if someone could help make sense of this to me. Is this accurate or perhaps are we doing something wrong. I can't imagine I'm stuck with 22 iPads that need to be maintained solely through Apple Config 2.

I just completed prepping 12 iPads with 18 iBooks to each iPad. This wasn't fun let me tell you. I would have loved to use JSS to configure and install documents on them instead.

Thanks for any input.

3 REPLIES 3

ttyler
New Contributor II

Hi wilfredov,

There are two ways to use Configurator 2 to enroll your device and irrelevant of where you purchased them they should enroll without issue. The purchase location only has an impact when referring to DEP (Apple's Device Enrollment Program), i.e. if you buy from a non registered provider then it is difficult to get your devices registered with DEP, however I would recommend that you start your enrollment with DEP now for future deployments. (Get VPP While your at it).

With your existing devices the sure fire way to simply "get" your ipads into the JSS is using Enrollment Profiles.

JSS > Mobile Devices > Enrollment Profiles > New

Simply Creating a profile, naming it and then saving it is all you need to do.
45d1acddf8914be4865397979393f1bb