FileVault Not encrypting Recovery HD

realreggie
New Contributor II

Hello,

I have a few MBAs and MBPs in my JSS with encryption enabled. However it looks like FileVault is
only encrypting the Boot Partition and not the Recovery Partition. Therefore, I cannot grab the recovery key from the Management tab. Any ideas why this is happening or how I can fix it?

Thanks in advance!

3 REPLIES 3

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

FileVault never encrypts the Recovery HD, only the main partition. if it did, you wouldn't be able to Command+R boot into it in the event of an issue with the Mac. If you aren't seeing the Recovery keys being escrowed, there are likely other causes. Some of these might be:

Your Disk Encryption configuration isn't set up correctly
Your Macs are not submitting inventory at the end of the encryption policy (after they reboot)

BTW, I know it sounds misleading to call FileVault "full disk encryption" when one of the required partitions to even use it remains unencrypted, but that's how it works.

realreggie
New Contributor II

Thanks for that information. It really cleared up a lot. So I guess the next question is what is the issue with my Disk Encryption Configuration or why aren't my machine submitting inventory at the end. I'll look into that and post my findings.

Thanks!

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III