Flash Player Update Help

rharrington
New Contributor II

I am new to using JSS and am trying to configure my first update but it does not seem to be working. Here is what I have done so far:

Created Smart Group to find all systems without Flash or at a lower version-
226495a310914ae093a8f1f6fea9d07c
0f9435c735dc4acc8b110b968fed4708

Created a Policy which should install flash player on logout one time and then run a disable Flash Player Update script to the 7 computers found in my smart group-
b25862606afc4705b2d0ef0aa9b61b35
de6e99a87343407da197329a4c4056af
e9b2d4809cde4eb3924df8aabc74279a
d6f5a9381070470785f7b425a6e49648

Upon logon on the machines listed in the smart group, flash is not installed. In the management history for the specific computers I am not getting any fail error or even an attempt at applying the policy it appears. Can anyone help me with this?

22 REPLIES 22

karthikeyan_mac
Valued Contributor

Hi @rharrington ,

Can you check "Check for policies triggered by login or logout" is checked in "Management Settings ---> Computer Management ---> Check-In ---> Login/Logout Hooks (Tab)

604278abc03f4537ad5dec968063454a

rharrington
New Contributor II

Yes, that is checked off.

AVmcclint
Honored Contributor

On one of the affected computers, run

sudo jamf policy -event login

and see what happens. if it says no policies were found for the "login" trigger, then maybe check the Logs for that policy to see if it shows as a failure.

rharrington
New Contributor II

This is what I get in the logs:

Executing Policy Update - Flash Player - 19.0.0.226...
Mounting JSS to /Volumes/CasperShare...
Verifying package integrity...
Installing Adobe Flash Player - 19.0.0.226...
Error: An error occurred attempting to mount the package "Adobe Flash Player - 19.0.0.226".

So I obviously have an issue there, but why would it not even try to install until I ran "sudo jamf policy -event login"

AVmcclint
Honored Contributor