Help with Missing Devices

chrisgalasso
New Contributor

Hi jamfNation,

I am fairly new to my position, but have been around the jamf block for a bit longer. I've been presented with a different type of scenario than what I have perviously dealt with - So I was looking for some help/advice on getting towards a possible solution. We have an inventory of macOS 10.12.6 devices, and the problem that I have been running into is kiddos "misplacing" their devices in the building.

From my Tech standpoint - I am able to provide last check-in information from the JSS - And I am able to let them know the last AP that the device communicated with. More often than not - I am not finding out about these missing devices until much later - And that has made it more difficult, as the assumption is these devices have been closed and put in their case and then moved.

Anyway - Aside from all rambling - And getting the student to back-track their classes, and contacting all teachers to check their cabinet, and contacting parents to let them know of the issue - Is there anything I can do to get these sleeping devices to force a check-in.

Ideally in my mind - It would be nice to set a policy to have my devices force a check-in while they are sleeping. If there is something I can do to require a device to temporarily wake for internet access after sleeping for maybe 4 hours (Just to be conservative on the battery if needed...), that would be helpful if I could enforce a check-in during that time.

Anyway - Just looking for any suggestions on this. I've asked Administration to work with teachers/students on these issues as they keep coming up - But I'd still feel better having this covered on my end so I can at least know for certain that I'll be able to recover the device in the event that it is missing.

Thanks!

1 REPLY 1

cpdecker
Contributor III