Home Screen Layout Questions

1bigboomstick
New Contributor III

Hey folks

Just getting going on using Jamf to manage iPads with our school district. (total newb here)
We've got a lot of schools, a lot of devices, and a lot of different apps. The few schools that I've rolled into so far seem to want slightly different user experiences, starting with home screen layout. The other day we deployed a bunch of apps and then I started to work on the home screen layout profile and put everything where they wanted... mostly.
Just for giggles, I wiped a device to see how fast and easy I could get the device back to that state. The apps all installed fast, my dock items appeared, the few items I set to go to the beginning of page 1 all appeared in the right order, the apps I didn't define in the home screen layout all fell into place in the remainder of page 1, and the folder I set for page 2 appeared there, populated with the apps I wanted in it. I thought "wow, jackpot".
But then I noticed that if I make a small tweak to that profile, when it pushes out to the device, all of the apps that I didn't specifically define a spot for end up on a third page. I was hoping that I could put what I want at the beginning of page 1 and then let undefined and new apps fall in afterwards without any specific assignment, but that doesn't appear possible. Am I missing something?
Question 2 - If I hadn't of tweaked that profile, is there some sort of schedule when the iPad would have checked in and updated itself to this inconvenient change?

Thanks
Deano

3 REPLIES 3

bburdeaux
Contributor II

I've not messed with Home Screen Layouts much, but here's how I understand it. There are two important things to understand about the layout profiles. 1: They save everything detail about the pages you set in the profile, including empty spaces. 2: They are not persistent; they make their changes once then go away. I'll quickly break down the two scenarios you encountered.