How to delete a specific file in every users home folder?

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

Hi,

Found a variant of Minecraft that puts an invisible folder at the root of the local AD users home folder. It creates a folder called ".minecraft". I am not very good at scripts, and I don't want to accidentally screw things up.

I know you can do a path to a file in a policy, but am not sure how to do that for every local AD user account.

So just asking for peoples best practice to do away with this file.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

vadanx
Contributor
#!/bin/sh

rm -rf /Users/*/.minecraft

That would cover it safely, I'd say. Maybe run in a policy once per day

~Andrew

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

@steventhemacman, try this:

1. Create a DMG of the file in Composer.
  2. Index when uploaded to Casper Admin
  3. Set to Fill Existing Users
  4. Tick "Allow This Package to be uninstalled...."
  5. Run a policy to uninstall

tuinte
Contributor III

Ooh, I like that.

vadanx
Contributor
#!/bin/sh

rm -rf /Users/*/.minecraft

That would cover it safely, I'd say. Maybe run in a policy once per day

~Andrew

tuinte
Contributor III

Ooh, I like that more.

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

Unfortunately bentoms policy didn't work...I wonder if it is because it is a invisible folder. Not sure. I triple checked everything, the policy runs, but the folder is still there...I will try the script from vadanx next....

DVG
New Contributor III

You can always set their volume to 10 and use a SAY command to alert them that Minecraft should not be installed on your equipment. That tends to drive the point home...for awhile.

Dusty VanGilder

pcarrier
New Contributor

Because Minecraft is a drag and drop install,why not just disallow any process named Minecraft? If it can't start, it can't dump those folders.

Check out restricted software to limit the use of this app.

DVG
New Contributor III