I am trying to fully remove Adobe CC Device license without deleting the apps

Fox
New Contributor II

Hi, I noticed that all of my Macs had an old scope that pushed out a Device license to all of our Macs. The problem is that my school has moved over to User License accounts and as soon as this old policy was pushed through, the User License accounts no longer work (it's using the device license)*.

Is there a way to permanently delete the device license (hopefully without removing all of the adobe apps) and have it re-trigger the user license instead?

 

Thanks in advance!

 

*sadly these old policies were pushed through after I cleared out 500K+ failed polices.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

patelsanjay
New Contributor III

Do you mean logs into Creative Cloud Desktop App?  If so I think that's how Adobe intends it to work. If you want to fully remove SDL from a device such that it never reactivates you may need to revoke all them from admin console https://helpx.adobe.com/enterprise/using/recover-sdl-licenses.html

I know that sounds like over kill, but it might be what you need to do.  

I suppose one longshot thing you can check - I believe its technically possible to have multiple SDL licenses on a single computer, so you may need to double check that you're deactivating every present license.

 

Can't say I've tested this, but you may need to do a little file surgery as well.  This is several years old so the exact files/folders you need to locally remove may have changed:
https://dazwallace.wordpress.com/2020/07/30/moving-devices-from-adobe-shared-device-license-to-adobe...

 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

patelsanjay
New Contributor III

If you're using Adobe Shared Device Licensing (SDL) then the license toolkit might be what you're looking for: https://helpx.adobe.com/enterprise/kb/sdl-toolkit.html

 

Fox
New Contributor II

Hi Patelsanjoy!

Thanks for the input but I did try that ( a few times ) and what I have noticed is that as soon as a user logs in, the Device license is re-activated.

patelsanjay
New Contributor III

Do you mean logs into Creative Cloud Desktop App?  If so I think that's how Adobe intends it to work. If you want to fully remove SDL from a device such that it never reactivates you may need to revoke all them from admin console https://helpx.adobe.com/enterprise/using/recover-sdl-licenses.html

I know that sounds like over kill, but it might be what you need to do.  

I suppose one longshot thing you can check - I believe its technically possible to have multiple SDL licenses on a single computer, so you may need to double check that you're deactivating every present license.

 

Can't say I've tested this, but you may need to do a little file surgery as well.  This is several years old so the exact files/folders you need to locally remove may have changed:
https://dazwallace.wordpress.com/2020/07/30/moving-devices-from-adobe-shared-device-license-to-adobe...

 

I'll add: Before you revoke/recover the licenses in admin console - read all the fine print.  I believe its all licenses attached to a product - not just the devices you want to deactivate.

Fox
New Contributor II

 


@patelsanjay wrote:

Can't say I've tested this, but you may need to do a little file surgery as well.  This is several years old so the exact files/folders you need to locally remove may have changed:
https://dazwallace.wordpress.com/2020/07/30/moving-devices-from-adobe-shared-device-license-to-adobe...


This completely did the trick! Thank you!