Imaging workflow

Not applicable

Hello All. I'm new to the casper suite and am realizing that it would be great to see/hear some real word examples how some of you are handling it's use. It's a great framework, but gives you a lot of "ways to skin the cat". Unfortunately it's one of those things that you get better at the more you are familiar with/do it - and I'd like to start well and improve from there. I essentially have a "Base" configuration and a couple of configurations that build upon the base. All of the clients live in the same building and are on the same network. in the same building. I'm trying to figure out the easiest way to create a workflow that accomplishes the following goals.

Here are my goals.
Simple: Make it easy to create and maintain. packages have always done this for me.
Speed: Make it quick from a "face time" perspective. It's OK if the imaging takes a bit longer if I don't have to babysit the process
Accuracy: Automate as much as possible to reduce decision making/human error.
Flexibility: Allow for exceptions to the rules.

Hopefully this will provide me with a workflow that automates as much as possible and makes it easy for me or anyone else on the team to re-image a machine and have it come as close as possible back to the pre-existing state.

My method has always been to 1. create an "OS" image, with just a local admin, ssh and ARD turned on and 2. all non-firmware or machine specific updates at that point applied. Then from there, 3. Lay packages over the OS to install apps and sometimes change certain other settings. I used to do it with a for loop and installer that pointed to my own "repository"
4. Manually apply updates specific to the computer group (I had a folder for production and a folder for 5. handle exceptions

Now I have the casper suite to use and would like to start off well without having to go back and re-architect things as I discover a better way.