Installing Applications from Self Service Don't Go Into Applications Folder

niacobelli
New Contributor III

Hello,

First of all, I am new to JAMF and I'm learning as I go and I hope I am able to describe this correctly.
I created a DMG from a software cd in Disk Utility and uploaded it into Casper Admin. I went into Self Service and created a new policy for this program. Initially I wanted it to be installed a start up so I didn't have to touch 20 computers and I couldn't get it to work. Do I need a script for that?

Next, I just made it available in Self Service and downloaded it manually from there. It completes and everything is there and it works, but it doesn't get installed into the computers Application folder. I uploaded an image to describe what I'm talking about. It gets put just outside the Applications folder.
e
Any help? This isn't the first time this has happened to me either. It's done it for an Epson driver, Exam4, VLC, Scratch. Is it because I'm not doing a snapshot? I thought if the installer was a .dmg I didn't need to take a snapshot.

Thank you,
Nicholas

4646f612254e42ba8b665256f1aba839

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mpermann
Valued Contributor II

@niacobelli Casper puts files from a .DMG file in the same relative path on the Macintosh HD as they appear on the .DMG file. So if the application is in the root level of the .DMG file then it will go on the root level of the Macintosh HD. If I need to make a .DMG file of an application that I want installed with Casper I will use the Composer application to build it. Below are the basic steps I would use.
1. Place the application in the Applications folder of the packaging machine you will be using to build the .DMG.
2. If the app was downloaded from the internet I manually adjust the File Quarantine Attributes.
3. Open the Composer application.
4. Drag the application into the Sources sidebar of the Composer application.
5. Name the source appropriately with version information.