Installing Keynote Template

ryanlower
New Contributor II

My company recently updated their Keynote template. I used Jamf Composer to create a snapshot package where I used the Keynote app to manually save the theme as a template. I saved it as a DMG, and applied it to a policy that Fills existing users. It does exactly what I expect, placing the .kth file in the user Keynote directory (~/Library/Containers/com.apple.iWork.Keynote/Data/Library/Application Support/User Templates). However, upon opening Keynote.app, the theme does not appear in the Theme Chooser.

The final strange detail is that on the same computer I've been testing the policy on, if I create a new user before running the policy that has never opened Keynote before, the template does appear in the Theme Chooser on that second account, but will still not appear in Keynote on the first account.

I'm very new to this so please don't hesitate to suggest that I've made a mistake that seems dumb or obvious to you, it's entirely possible. I'll take any and all advice and appreciate it!

15 REPLIES 15

murphym
New Contributor

I'm also running into this issue and wondering if something changed in the new Keynote Version 9 as it used to work just fine in version 8. If the template file is installed by script or manually into that User Templates folder Keynote does not add the theme tab like it used to. But if you double click a template file and opt to add it to the theme chooser it will add it to the folder and make the tab visible. Maybe there is a plist somewhere to toggle that tab?

pmcavey
New Contributor II

Any update on this issue?

ryanlower
New Contributor II