Installing xCode on Yosemite computers and allowing non-admins to run

msnowdon
Contributor

Hi, I have gone through several posts about this but I know things change with different versions of OS X and Xcode.

I need to push down Xcode 7.2 to a computer science lab running Yosemite to be used by students who don't have admin rights. I plan on using Composer to capture Xcode since it asks for an admin password after install and then installs some other things. I'm capturing the receipts so the device knows it has Xcode installed.

From what Ive read, I need to add students or everyone to the developer group by running:
dseditgroup -o edit -a everyone -t group _developer

And I also should enable DevToolsSecurity by running:
DevToolsSecurity -enable

I saw these recommendations from @gregneagle and @rhysforrester .

How does all this sound? I'm open for any advice but just to let you know, I'm not good at scripting.

Thanks

Mark

8 REPLIES 8

bpavlov
Honored Contributor

kerouak
Valued Contributor

I just finished packaging and deploying Xcode and Extras.
The simple solution is to capture it in Composer.

So, Take a normal snapshot
Install The Xcode App, enter admin details and restart.
Re start Composer, and install the extras etc.
Then 'create package Source'

Bob's your Uncle!

This worked fine for me.

msnowdon
Contributor

@kerouak That's what I was planning to do. I do try to install things as their native .pkg files as I noticed Composer picked up many folders & files that I'm not exactly sure are necessary.

@bpavlov I have used that method in the past for apps like GarageBand. I may give this a try along with the after script because it installs the app as Apple intended. If I have trouble or run out of time I may revert back to Composer.

Thanks

bpavlov
Honored Contributor