iPhone to iPhone Data Transfer Question: Messages | Photos | Contacts

JB1
New Contributor

Hello all,

I'm a new JAMF administrator for a University employing around 3500 individuals. Had a situation pop up last week with one of our departments, and while I'm finding similar threads in the JAMF community I haven't stumbled upon one quite in the situation we are in. 

We met with one of our department heads recently. The department has purchased approximately 60 new iPhones to replace 60 aging iPhones for her personnel. All are managed via JAMF Pro. Unbeknownst to us, Apple IDs were created by the department and setup on all 60 iPhones. These Apple IDs are being managed by the department head who is now finding its becoming quite tedious to manage all these Apple IDs. 

We as an organization have not restricted the ability to sign in with a personal Apple ID. 

I've been asked to look into if there's a way to remove the use of these 60 or so privately managed Apple IDs on the new phones that are going to be deployed. The department head though is asking if we have the ability to transfer iMessages, Contacts, and Photos from these Apple IDs that they created and transfer to the new phones. These three services / apps are a must due to the nature of their roles on campus. Simultaneously the department would like us to block the ability for their employees to then sign in with their personal Apple IDs. So again the ask is transfer iMessages, Photos, and Contacts from an Apple ID to a new phone that will not be allowed to sign in with an Apple ID. 

Currently we are not using Managed Apple IDs.