Jamfhelper automatic OS update

CYL
New Contributor II

I'm very new to scripting in general. I'm helping to develop a policy to search and install new os update to individual's system. The scripts works fine in terminal, but when I run it as a policy. It will failed because of authentication. Is there anyway to fix this?  Either prompt a window to put in their credentials. I only want it to run whenever the user or an IT admin press the policy in self service to activate it. Here is my original script. Thanks

#!/bin/zsh

Choice=$(/Library/Application\ Support/JAMF/bin/jamfHelper.app/Contents/MacOS/jamfHelper  -windowType utility -title "Updates" -heading "Mac OS X Updates" -description "Your Mac needs to check for and install the latest updates. Please select Update Now to update OS X (This will restart the computer). If you select Update Later you can update from the Self Service(If not done soon your mac will auto update)." -button1 "Update Now" -button2 "Update Later" -defaultButton 1 -cancelButton 2)

if [[ "$Choice" == "0" ]]; then
   sudo softwareUpdate -iaR
fi

exit 0
#Written by CYL

11 REPLIES 11

SmilieK
New Contributor III

Are you trying to run that on a M1 machine? if so it won't work. You can't issue the "Restart command" anymore on them. It has to do with the bootstrap token and lot of other factors.

That script as is should work 10.15 and below. you should not need the "sudo" in the jamf script. All actions are ran as admin unless you tell it otherwise. 

In Jamf 10.32 they say they "fixed"(have not tested myself) it so you can issue API commands to do "restart" updates on M1's

bwoods
Valued Contributor

@CYL  I would suggest creating a user interaction policy with a Files and Processes payload. However, If you absolutely need a custom script then then you can use this

efil4xiN
Contributor II