Munki, autodmg, autopkg, jssimporter, etc...

kyoung
Contributor

Anyone have any thoughts on the best 3rd party tools/workflow to use to keep pkgs in Casper up to date? I am a newbie at this so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

11 REPLIES 11

pblake
Contributor III

I use AutoPkgr in conjunction with AutoPkg.

kyoung
Contributor

If I use those tools where is the best place to install them? On the Jss itself, my admin computer, a separate server?

pblake
Contributor III

I run it off my admin machine, but if you have a reporting or management server, that wouldn't be the worst idea either. I use my machine and I have AutoPkgr send email alerts when new updates are detected to myself and my team.

kyoung
Contributor

I go to autopkg at github and the first thing I see is this:

A brief "getting started" tutorial

Some parts of this short tutorial assume you have a working Munki repo configured that you can mount from your admin machine. Munki isn't strictly required to use AutoPkg - for example, it can simply build packages - but Munki is so far the only supported system that can be "imported into." If you aren't using Munki, you can still use AutoPkg to find the latest updates, download them, and repackage them (if needed) for deployment -- you would then need to manually import them into whatever software distribution system you are using.

Does munki provide some whiz bang extras that make the whole process easyer?

kyoung
Contributor

I have also heard of jssinstaller (also on github) that is supposed to work with autopkg. Any thoughts?

rderewianko
Valued Contributor II

I think the best place to explore is a list by /url">@rtrouton][/url [https://derflounder.wordpress.com/2015/02/04/free-tools-for-the-budget-minded-mac-admin/

Munki, is like casper but fully open source. It's a great solution but running both munki and casper together isn't a great idea.

adamcodega
Valued Contributor