Music Creation Software Deployment Challenges

mhegge
Contributor III

In our lab environment(s) for the music department, we have a number of software packages that are installed on the lab iMac. The real challenge is that many of these software applications are not conducive with mass deployment. Licensing, dongles, sheer size, etc. really prohibit deplying via JAMF Pro.

With imaging as-we-know-it going away, this provides additional challenges.

Would like to put it out there is the JAMF-nos-sphere as to how others are dealing with the challenges.

Examples of software we are dealing with:
Pro Tools
KOMPLETE (Native Instruments)
Ableton Live
Logic Pro X (not a real issue, just it ties in with Native Instruments stuff)

Non-music related software that is also challenging:
AutoDesk (MAYA)
Camtasia

10 REPLIES 10

wakmw
New Contributor

I've spent a few days on this. I'm quite new to JAMF and primarily a Windows SysAdmin.
I had to write a powershell script to deploy Native Instruments on Windows. So I've used the same script and adapted it for Macs.
So you need to deploy Powershell Core 6 as a package. Powershell Core 6 Package
Create a Policy called "Install Native Instruments"
Add Native Access as a package.
Add the powershell script as a package and make sure the script goes into /private/var/tmp/ni.ps1

I decided just to start it from Self Service rather than after enrollment.
Add this as the Script within the policy $4 and $5 parameters are Username and Password defined within the policy.

#!/bin/bash mkdir /Volumes/Native mount_smbfs //"domain>;$4:$5"@<server>/<share /Volumes/Native/ pwsh -File /private/var/tmp/ni.ps1