New to Jamf Pro

chargrov
New Contributor II

Hello All,

I'm new to JAMF and I have a million questions. I've signed up for the Jump Start but I wanted to make sure I have everything together before that time arrives. So we don't have a lot of Macs I would say about 20 and maybe 100 iOS devices, I was going to order a Mac mini but I was wondering if I can install on Windows Server 2016? Which would be better? Does it make a difference? What needs to be installed prior to the Jump Start? Also since we don't have many devices will I be able to keep the database on the same device? I know that's a lot of questions but I just want to be prepared. I'm really excited about this since I've been manually patching and doing inventory for these device (Ugh). Oh I'm also interested in integrating with AD so I'm not sure what that entails either. Thanks for all of your help.

6 REPLIES 6

Yebubbleman
New Contributor III

Windows Server 2016 should be supported. Though, if you're doing it on-prem and not going with JAMF Cloud, Windows Server 2012 R2 might be less of a pain in the finances in terms of the per-core licensing structure they announced.

That said, I'd STRONGLY recommend installing your JAMF Pro server instance on either a Windows Server 2012 R2/2016 box or a Linux box and not a Mac server of any kind. It's not that the Mac couldn't do it. Just that Linux and Windows Server boxes are better geared for being, y'know, servers.

Welcome to JAMF!

blackholemac
Valued Contributor III

Welcome...first advice is to feel free to come here and speak up with your questions. Most of us here like to help.

Second advice is to plan on working late on your jumpstart days. As you grasp each new item being taught, run with it and test on things you get. On things you don’t get, make your list and pepper your integrator until you do.