OneDrive "We can't sync your "OneDrive" folder on Monterey

JSKeller
New Contributor III

I've had this issue since about January 2022. It hasn't been a huge issue because I am operating in an enterprise environment with less than 100 Macs. However, we are growing and this is steadily becoming more prevalent. The reason I post this here is because I'm the main point of contact for Jamf, but I'm still fairly new to setup in this environment so I'd love to hear if anyone has suggestions for this issue. Here's what's happening:

I utilize SSO sign-in through Azure AD. Since about 12.2 and later, any new setup of Mac OS (brand new or refreshed) I have not been able to get users signed into their OneDrive app. We launch the app, put in their email, and then it is 'supposed' to go to the SSO splash page, but OneDrive does not go there. It just seems to refresh the page and ask for the email address again. Once you click next, the app does not ask for the password and then asks where the folder should be synced. You select a location, the app thinks for a moment, and then gives the following error:

'We can't sync your "enter organizational folder name here" folder. Sorry, we can't add your "enter organizational folder here" folder right now. Please try again.'

The odd thing is, you CAN sign in, if you had a device that was enrolled before 12.2 and then updated to 12.2 or 12.3.1, you can still sign into OneDrive. For instance, if I sign into OneDrive on my own account on my primary Mac which is running 12.3.1, it works because I obtained the computer when only 12.0.1 was out. If I spin up a new device and it is on 12.3.1, I try to sign in with the same account info, and I get the error. The following is a list of what I've tried:

1. Restarted the devices.

2. Wiped/re-enrolled the devices

3. Changed to various versions of new/old of OneDrive. Tested with a standalone installer and the app from the VPP store. Same effect.