OSX 10.11 dmg

zhouchens
New Contributor

Newbie here. How long should it take for my OSX dmg to index? It is for a mac mini. I have been waiting for over an hour. Is this normal? I am using Casper Admin 9.81.
Thanks!!

Z

11 REPLIES 11

Kaltsas
Contributor III

You'll never uninstall an OS X DMG, there's no reason to index it. Given the number of files in an OS installer I imagine it would take hours.

roiegat
Contributor III

Does the Mac Mini have a SSD drive or a rotational drive? I would assume rotational. Still, normal dmg for the 10.11 is around 8 gigs - so could take a couple hours depending on CPU and what else is running on that machine.

drew_duggan
New Contributor III
New Contributor III

Seconding @Kaltss in that you only need to be indexing packages that you're going to uninstall. As a best practice, only do it when that particular workflow is necessary and not as a standard action taken on all packages you're building. It just ends up being total clutter in your database and impacting performance of your JSS.

Chuey
Contributor III

@drew.duggan When you say "...you only need to be indexing packages that you're going to uninstall." I understand what you mean but I guess I'm confused when you say uninstall?

For simplicity, lets say I just create a googleChrome.PKG, upload through Casper Admin, would I NOT index that PKG since next week Google may push out a new chrome, I'll re-build PKG, and then re-upload but never index?

Should I only be indexing things that I know won't be getting updated frequently?

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III