Patch Management

bulvai
New Contributor

Hi, i am completely new to jamf pro. I like to use the patch management feature. i understand, that i have to configure, wich apps i like to involve in the patch management at \computer\patchmanagement\. 

so lets say i like to monitor firefox. i create a new entry at  \computer\patchmanagement\. 

After that i download the actual version (97.x) and upload it to the packages.

Now i can select this package at definitions in the patch management entry i just created.

On a test mac i installed an old (96) version of firefox. 

How i can now update the installed 96 to 97 with jamf patchmanagemt without creating a new policy to install the new version as usual...or is this the way ?

please help :-)

7 REPLIES 7

raymondap
Contributor

You're off to a good start. What you need to do next is to create a patch policy, which is what you actually scope to the targeted computers: https://docs.jamf.com/10.29.0/jamf-pro/administrator-guide/Patch_Policies.html

Once you have that all set up, you can test with sudo jamf policy on a client in scope.

bulvai
New Contributor

ok, but when i go in patchmanagement and then to policy, there comes a message, that i have you setup a software package for the software title. see screenshot. 

but this i have allready done. i dowloaded the .pkg file of Firefox 97 and select ir in software title. see screenshot.

And i have an Error in the extension atributes. i don´t know what this is and for what i need this and when, how to setup. i thought uploading the .pkg ist enough to install...

Bildschirmfoto 2022-02-15 um 14.21.47.pngBildschirmfoto 2022-02-15 um 14.23.31.png

I'm guessing you just need to accept/agree the terms of the EA, and that should clear the error. Once the error is clear, that should let you make your policy.

bulvai
New Contributor

you are right. sorry for this rookie mistake :-)