Prestage enrollment local admin not creating secure token in Ventura 13.2.1

bcameron
New Contributor III

I have a Prestage set up that creates a local admin user.

It works correctly in Monterey or before.

Ventura it stopped working.

My work around right now is to not add the machine to pre-enrollment until after I manually setup the local admin user then add the machine to Pre-Enrollment and run [profiles renew -type enrollment] from CMD.

I would like to get my pre-enroll working again.

Any suggestions?

18 REPLIES 18

mariopena
New Contributor III

I just got some new MacBook Pro's and MacBook Airs (M1/M1 Max/ M2/M2 Max and the same thing is happening to our devices. They all had Monterrey still on them out the box. I enrolled 3 of them but our Pre-stage enrollment did not escrow the secure token. I'm pretty new to this JAMF thing and I'm at a loss. My Local admin account cand do and install everything except for Software updates.   

bcameron
New Contributor III

you are having this issue in Monterey too? The Monterey machines I have left still work, that's how I know my Pre-Enroll was not compromised somehow.

mariopena
New Contributor III

I just got a MacBook Air (M2 2022) that had Monterey out the box. It created my Local Admin Account from Pre Stage enrollment and My Account when I enrolled it. But Cannot update to Ventura because neither of the accounts has Secure token escrowed. Same Issue with 2 MBP with M1 and M2 Max that I got a few months ago. 

bcameron
New Contributor III

To add to the issue, if using Pre-Enrollment to create the admin user, at least 60% of the time the user will not accept the password to log in. I have to wipe the machine and restore the OS and try again. 

I have tried going into recovery mode and using [resetpassword] from terminal. You can reset the password and log in but the user permissions are not correct and they are un-correctable even using sudo or su to root. Says operation denied for permissions change.