Printer Randomly Pausing for Students and Requires Resetting Print System

killian12321
New Contributor II

Firstly; please forgive me for any lack of detail in this post as Macs are not my bread and butter (I'm a Windows Admin through and through).

We've recently upgraded all of our macs to the latest OS and done a complete reinstall of JAMF using a third party provider (effectively starting everything fresh).

The way they've set some things up feels a little backwards to me but as I hinted at above I am no expert with Macs. One of the weird little bugs we're experiencing is a printer is somehow ending up in a paused state and you need admin credentials to unpause. However, entering the admin credentials does unpause the printer but within a few seconds it goes back into a paused state.

The only workaround I've found for now is to log in as an admin and fully reset the printing system and run the script again (I'm actually typing in the script via terminal at this point).

Looking at the JAMF console it appears there was a policy that installed the drivers (and the papercut client) and then ran a script (below but obfuscated);

#!/bin/bash

Name="Follow-Me"
DeviceURI="smb://domain-name/Follow-Me-Mac"
PPD="/Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/SHARP MX-4112N.PPD.gz"
#Location=""

#lpadmin -p "$Name" -E -v "$DeviceURI" -P "$PPD" -L "$Location" -o auth-info-required=negotiate
lpadmin -p "$Name" -E -v "$DeviceURI" -P "$PPD" -o auth-info-required=negotiate

This policy is attached to a SMART group called 'No Follow Me Printer'. It's obviously running on enrolment or build and works fine for a while but when it gets into this paused state and I manually remove it the SMART group takes too long to update so I run the lpadmin locally. I've tried doing a policy that just runs the script at logon but that doesn't seem to be helping either.

Could anyone point me in the right direction as to establish what could be causing this?

11 REPLIES 11

dsavageED