Recurring OS X "cleaning" / automating "Onyx"

bgarlock
New Contributor

Hello,

We have a BU that has about 20 Mac's. From time to time, when we need to solve strange issues that are not configuration issues, I often run "Onyx", and unless there is an underlying HW issue, it solves the problem. I usually run the Automation, and have it rebuild just about all the caches.

I tried browsing through the scripts here, which all look very interesting (I'm a newbie here :-) but I couldn't find anything.

Is there a best practice for preventing these cache issues from time to time, or a way to automate purging them to prevent issues in the first place? The BU manager would like to not have to open a support ticket with us, if this can be prevented by routine maintenance.

Many thanks,
Bruce

2 REPLIES 2

milesleacy
Valued Contributor

Policies can do that.

Maintenance payload...

8836dbe55c7b449cae705ffc36ebb8e7

pdamasco
New Contributor

Hi Bruce,

To my knowledge you can clear some of the caches simply by creating a policy to perform maintenance on any mac in your JSS quite easily. There are some very useful features. If you create a new computer policy under Option->Maintenance select configure you can enable the following:

Fix Disk Permissions Fix ByHost Files Flush System Caches
Flush caches from /Library/Caches/ and /System/Library/Caches/, except for any com.apple.LaunchServices caches Flush User Caches
Flush caches from ~/Library/Caches/, ~/.jpi_cache/, and ~/Library/Preferences/Microsoft/Office version #/Office Font Cache Verify Startup Disk