Report Listing of Computer name, Users, and Users Folder Sizes?

jaguar0620
New Contributor

I am looking to pull data out of our Jamf Pro for the colleges up coming deployment this summer. We are implementing smaller drives and would like to let users know if they are going to exceed the size limit for their migration to complete successfully. I have done some searching on the Nation but didn't really find what I am looking to accomplish here. I found a script that will give me free space left on a HDD. (close but no cigar)

Any help would be much appreciated.

Please note, I am fairly new to Jamf Pro and scripting, etc.. I would call myself a newbie absorbing as much as possible here.

Thank ahead of time,

Leon

8 REPLIES 8

Look
Valued Contributor III

Here is a script I wrote ages ago for Self Service that creates a txt file of the disk usage stats on the machine and opens it in Safari.
Maybe it's useful to you, it can take a little time to run on a very full traditional HDD but it's pretty quick on an SSD and you could probably remove a few du commands that weren't relevant to what your trying to capture.

#!/bin/bash
CURRENT_USER=$(ls -l /dev/console | awk  '{print $3}' | head -n 1)
if [ "$CURRENT_USER" ]; then
FILE_NAME=$(echo ${CURRENT_USER}-$(hostname)-sizes.txt)
echo ===== Disk usage report for ${CURRENT_USER} on $(hostname)  ===== > /Users/$CURRENT_USER/$FILE_NAME
echo >> /Users/$CURRENT_USER/$FILE_NAME
echo  ===== Disk usage for top 10 users in MB ===== >> /Users/$CURRENT_USER/$FILE_NAME
du -m -d -x 0 /Users/* | sort -nr | head -n10 >> /Users/$CURRENT_USER/$FILE_NAME
echo  ===== Disk usage for top 10 folders in ${CURRENT_USER} showing the top 5 items in each folder in MB ===== >> /Users/$CURRENT_USER/$FILE_NAME
for FOLDER in $(du -m -d -x 0 /Users/$CURRENT_USER/* | sort -nr | head -n10 | awk '{print $2}'); do
if [ -d "$FOLDER" ]; then
echo $FOLDER  >> /Users/$CURRENT_USER/$FILE_NAME