roll back Mac patches & patch compliance reporting

sidhu_navdeep
New Contributor

Hi,

I'm new to Mac patching. We are running JSS 9.81 version & having Net SUS appliance to patch the Macs. So far, testing looks good however I've a quick question about roll back of Mac patches which we push/install via Casper. Is there any best practice available to roll them back if any issue reported by end user?

Please also help me to understand how can I fetch patch compliance report from JSS Casper?

Any help in this regard would be appreciated.

regards,
Navdeep

6 REPLIES 6

Aziz
Valued Contributor

There really isn't any way to rollback OS X updates.

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

You can't roll back Mac patches, certainly not if you're talking about operating system level ones from Apple's software update. Once they are installed, they are installed. OS X doesn't have a built in mechanism to roll anything back, and trying to undo a system level patch would be extremely dangerous. Let's just say trying to uninstall one could do more harm to the OS than the patch has done itself. So don't go there is my advice.
In general, you are going to need to do thorough testing of any patches before releasing them, to be sure they don't have adverse affects to your clients. I also wait a while and read up on released patches to see what's being reported and make decisions on that (as well as my own testing of course) to determine what to release.
Also, look at standing up a Software Update server in your environment and making sure all Macs are directed to get available patches from it, so you have control over what can even be installed. Your options here are: Reposado, JAMF's NetBoot/SUS Appliance (uses Reposado code), or Apple's OS X Server.