Script to set HostName, ect. to Serial# without admin prompt

Kecyre
New Contributor

Hey all, I am looking to create a script that when ran it will grab the Serial Number and set it as the HostName, LocalHostName, & ComputerName. I needed some help with getting it to run without the prompt for an Administrator username and password. So far this is what I have below and I apologize ahead of time I am VERY new to this and trying to learn.

set sys to do shell script "/usr/sbin/system_profiler SPHardwareDataType " without altering line endings

set StringVariable1 to "Serial"

set Serial_Number to do shell script "/usr/sbin/system_profiler SPHardwareDataType | awk '/Serial/ { print $NF }' "

do shell script "scutil --set HostName " & Serial_Number with administrator privileges
do shell script "scutil --set LocalHostName " & Serial_Number with administrator privileges
do shell script "scutil --set ComputerName " & Serial_Number with administrator privileges

display dialog "The Mac has been renamed to " & Serial_Number
16 REPLIES 16

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

@Kecyre Since renaming a Mac will always require admin privileges, you would need to run a script out of something like Self Service.app, which can escalate its own privs to run root level stuff. There's no way to bypass this admin prompt in a double clickable Applescript, if that's what you were looking to do.

If you decide to go the Self Service route, I would look at doing it in bash rather than trying to use Applescript related commands, since sometimes these fail unless they are really being run by the logged in user. You can still invoke Applescript within a bash script if you need it.

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

If you're using Casper, you can use a bash script like this:

#!/bin/sh
serial=`/usr/sbin/system_profiler SPHardwareDataType | /usr/bin/awk '/Serial Number (system)/ {print $NF}'`
/usr/sbin/scutil --set ComputerName "${serial}"