Sophos SafeGuard 5.5

jarednichols
Honored Contributor

So I've never worked with SafeGuard before and am curious as to how folks are deploying it. I've tried a login policy for right after Imaging that will call jamfHelper to fs mode, install Sophos, then run the activateSophos script as provided in the resource kit, but I always get an error 31 upon reboot as if the product isn't completely installed.

Anyone run into this? What does your workflow look like?

Thanks!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

jhbush
Valued Contributor II

My company looked at this products and scrapped it. After talking with Sophos they have no way to escrow the keys like on Windows which is where we use it presently to encrypt XP machines. That functionality isn't expected for at least another year. JAMF has a white paper somewhere and when I was doing the POC it worked fine by following their document. We also looked at PGP based encryption, but that breaks on every firmware update according to our pilot group we had a few months back. Considering all of the changes that Apple makes these days without documenting it we are sticking with FV2 for now. This is just my opinion and your employer may be mandating this product so you might not have a choice.

View solution in original post

jarednichols
Honored Contributor

So I got this working. I followed the white-paper and what is left out is something I just reported to Taylor at JAMF support yesterday.

My issue stemmed from the fact that I was compiling my 10.7 builds so that I'd get a bootable system. (See all those discussions about NetBoot producing a system that only had a bootable Recovery partition.)

When I was compiling, Sophos would error during the compile. Essentially, due to the compiling of the image, Casper Admin was ignoring the "install on boot" flag of the Sophos package. So, I was trying to kludge around it. What I did instead was the answer marked here:

https://jamfnation.jamfsoftware.com/discussion.html?id=3841