User level configuration profiles and restricted software.

SirDewalt
New Contributor III

Sorry if I’m asking stupid questions, I am fairly new to system administration and this is my first time working with Jamf. 

I am setting up my computers with a local admin account and then we create a local standard account for the user. After that we enroll the computer in Jamf and connect the computer to the user in Jamf via Cloud Identity Providers were I have set up Azure AD. I need to restrict the user from access lots of the system setting , but I need the admin account to be able to access these setting. I have a configuration profile set up to restrict the system setting however if I set it at the user level it doesn’t lock these down for any user no matter what I set under scope. If I set it at the computer level it is locking it down for all users. I also have a lot of Restricted Software under the Restricted Software section some of which the admin my need to access, I have not tried changing the setting in there yet but I expect it will behave the same way. 

4 REPLIES 4

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

For Restricted Software, click on the Exclusion tab when in the Scope section, and then click "LDAP/Local Users" to add a specific user account to exclude from the Restricted Software title.

For user level profiles, there is something to keep in mind. Only one local user account can be "MDM enabled" per device, which is required for it to be able to have a user level profile applied. This restriction doesn't apply for LDAP based accounts, strangely enough.

Not every profile payload is going to work as User Level also. For the profile payload you're talking about - Restrictions - I don't think I've used it in a User Level profile before, or at least not in a long while, so I'm not sure how that works. But give it a try. You can use the same exclusion tab as above to exclude the local admin user if you'd like to try it.