User notification that their system is meeting compliance for an OSX upgrade.

bjones
New Contributor III

TLDR: I am looking for a way to be able to take a few smart groups i have set that justify compliance of a system being ready for an OSX upgrade and create a button in self service that will give a yes or no.

Scripting is not my strong point at all and i am fairly new to this. I have the Smart Group set and i currently have users pinging me asking is their system meeting the requirements. Once they are cleared they will go to the app store and download it themselves. We currently don't cache due to bandwith at the moment. I would like for the button i create in self service to query the smart group and if the system is there respond with feel free to upgrade and if no advise them to consult IT.

I hope this makes sense what im trying to accomplish.

4 REPLIES 4

emily
Valued Contributor III
Valued Contributor III

Hi @bjones, if I'm interpreting your inquiry correctly, you're looking for some kind of pop-up dialog that will display information to the user? I'd say make some kind of centralized smart group that checks for membership of whatever other smart groups you set up for eligibility (a master smart group of sorts) and scope the confirmation/eligibility policy in Self Service only to those machines. Alternately, you can combine the criteria from those individual groups into one Smart Group if that's easier to manage.

Once you do that, jamfHelper can do the rest. I have a post that discusses "demystifying" jamfHelper here. That may be a good start for that part of what you want to accomplish.

bjones
New Contributor III

@emily