Wired 802.1x with AD computer account fails to send request.

jschmidtlein
New Contributor

I am attempting to use a Configuration Profile to setup wired 802.1x for an OSX 10.10.2 system. I would like to use the computer account for authentication and have setup the configuration profile accordingly. When I attempt to connect it immediately prompts for a user name and password. I never see a request on my NPS logs on the server for the computer account. If I give it a valid username and password it works without issue.

Here is the very strange part. On the same system I have a wireless 802.1x configuration profile installed with the same setup. It works without any problem. NPS log correctly shows the valid authentication.

So as near as I can tell when I use the configuration profile to push the auto connect via computer account it never actually sends the request for authentication.

I am fairly new to OS X administration so I am unsure of what system logs I need to look at to see if the request is happening on the system or not. I though I had figured out the correct log but it is not logging any activity. Any help would be appreciated. I really do not want to go back to using user authentication via a service account.

9 REPLIES 9

pblake
Contributor III

@jschmidtlein This is a bug. I have been trying to setup the exact same thing in 10.9.5 and 10.10.2. I can only get wireless 802.1x to work with computer based certs. JAMF has it listed as a defect under D-008406.

jschmidtlein
New Contributor

@pblake That makes sense. For the life of me I cannot figure out what the defect number you gave me corresponds to. Is there somewhere I can go and read the defect your are referencing?

pblake
Contributor III

@jschmidtlein I think it is an internal JAMF defect number. You can reach out to your JAMF TAM and he/she should be able to help you. Hopefully if more people have this issue they will be able to raise the priority.

jschmidtlein
New Contributor