10.9.3 NetBoot gets "SecurityAgent may only be invoked by Apple Software" error

jkuo
Contributor

Hey all,

This is my first attempt at spinning up a NetBoot server. I'm using NetSUS 3.0 on Ubuntu 12.04, and I built the netboot image using an AutoDMG created base image. Following instructions I found in another discussion, I mounted that AutoDMG image on the machine (also running 10.9.3), and then ran System Image Utility. Chose Customize, then added a Casper Tools 9.31 pkg that I built with Package Maker.

Uploaded the nbi folder to NetSUS, and then enabled NetBoot. Green light.

Now, when I try to netboot a 2012 15" Retina, it gets the Apple, but then gets to a point where it says "SecurityAgent may only be invoked by Apple Software" with an OK button.

I figure I did something wrong with creating the nbi, but I'm not sure what it is. What should I be doing instead?

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5

jamesdurler
Contributor

Hi, I am having the same issue. I am only seeing this error message when booting mid 2013 macbook airs. Have you resolved this issue?

jennifer
Contributor

I had the same error pop up on an iMac (not net boot). I'm not sure what caused it, but I found a solution on MacRumors to get rid of it.

Boot up into single user mode.
Run fsck
Mount the drive
Erase /var/folders
(OP says fsck again; but I forgot and it was fine)
Reboot

/sbin/fsck -fy (space after the k)
/sbin/mount -uw / (space after the t and after the w)
rm -Rf /var/folders/* (space after the m and the f)
shutdown -r now

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1723409

Look
Valued Contributor III

Jennifer's solutions sounds like the correct solution for a local issue.
If I understand you correctly this is happening when you are trying to netboot?
If so the answer may be that you need to empty the /var/folders folder inside the boot image... just making a guess here.