Active Directory not allowing new users on Macs.

RRTXmacAdmin
New Contributor III

Last Friday I noticed that our Mac systems started not allowing new users to log in (not creating mobile accounts, etc) when authenticating via Active Directory. Existing users can log into their mobile account on the system, but network resources do not appear to be available.This feature has been functional, and nothing has changed in the JSS or on the image. I have asked my team if anything has changed on the back end, and I have been reassured nothing has. This has seemingly come out of nowhere. With that, I am no expert in Active Directory so I am hoping that someone has seen this or something similar. Any help is much appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6

grecopj
Contributor

Have you tried to unbind the machine and bind again to the AD server? I had a lab of 24 machines and about 12 of them could not authenticate. I had to unbind and rebind to correct the issue.

emily
Valued Contributor III
Valued Contributor III

I'm pretty sure this is a Mavericks issue; my users see that too. From what I've found, it takes an AD-bound Mac on Mavericks about a minute to check into the AD service, so when a machine first boots up, it doesn't show that network accounts are available right away. In our environment in particular, a Mac needs to sit on the login screen on the LAN (not Wifi) for a good 45-60 seconds before it sees network accounts.

hodgesji
Contributor

Take a look at this discussion thread and see if it helps:

https://jamfnation.jamfsoftware.com/discussion.html?id=8775

easyedc
Valued Contributor II

Apple has indicated to us that this is a known issue in OS X 10.9.x. They did say that if you can run either a

$ dseditgroup -o checkmember -m <username> <groupname>

or a

$ id <username>