Apple iMac enroll not working

PaulL
New Contributor

Hi Folks,

I'm new to jamf, and just using it as a software developer because our customers want us to integrate to it, so our instance serves as test data for developing integrations.

I've got a couple of iphones enrolled fine.

When I try to enroll an apple laptop, I go either to https://myinstance.jamfcloud.com/enroll, or I can use the link provided by jamf when you create an invitation, which is basically the same.. https://myinstance.jamfcloud.com/enroll?invitation=somelongnumber

So I get to the enrollment screen, it says "Assign to user", so I put a user name in that box, but when I click "Enroll" nothing happens. The screen just says there as if the enroll button had not been clicked.

thanks

Paul

11 REPLIES 11

obi-k
Valued Contributor III

The first link should work. For the user name, does this account have enrollment rights in your Jamf Pro? Can you use another account?

AJPinto
Honored Contributor III

If you are not connected to AAD or LDAP I have noticed JAMF Cloud likes to hang when you attempt to assign to user during Device Enrollment. Try leaving that field blank and assigning the device within the JAMF Console after enrollment.

PaulL
New Contributor

The account I used was my email address, which is the site administrator. In user accounts and groups, it says:

Username Full Name Email Type Access Privileges

EMAIL ADDRESS
My NameEMAIL ADDRESSStandard UserFull AccessCustom

I also created an invite with that same email address.

thanks

obi-k
Valued Contributor III

Do you use Apple Business Manager? Worth a look if the iMac has a T2.

https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-configurator/welcome/ios

PaulL
New Contributor

I don't think so. I just want to get the Apple into the "Computers" list in Jamf cloud so that we have some test data to play with for developing API integration. The apple is pretty much brand new and nothing has been installed on it