When we get an Apple Update popup in the top right corner, we pretty much hit "Remind
Me Tomorrow indefinitely". Does anyone know how we can stop those messages from popping up and control when updates are available for users?
Turn off the "automatically check for updates" flag via plist setting, and forcibly run the softwareupdate command on machines at whatever interval you'd prefer?
Doing this is, of course, dangerous, because even Apple is not exempt from making mistakes/having a perfect testing process. You could push out an update that thoroughly impacts your company.