Build a smaller/faster NBI image?

nadams
New Contributor III

I'm new to Casper, and just recently finished my Jumpstart. During the jumpstart, I was shown the process to create a Casper Imaging NBI to replace our current use of DeployStudio. The process that I was shown is to download the full installer of the lastest MacOS, run it through AutoDMG to get a disk image, then use that disk image in AutoCasperNBI to create the NBI easily.

That process works fine, but the resulting NBI is 10gb, and takes forever to boot. Our old DeployStudio NBI is about 4gb, and I can be up to the image selection window in about 1min 10 seconds. Booting into Casper Imaging takes 4mins 30 seconds to get to the JSS login prompt. This just isn't going to be acceptable when we're trying to image 400 laptops this summer.

Does anyone have any tricks to reduce the image size? I saw some previous discussions where the size of the NBI doesn't matter, because the client is only going to pull down the data that it needs to boot. It seems like it's pulling down the whole image though.

18 REPLIES 18

TJ_Edgerly
New Contributor III

Check out MacMule by @bentoms :

my link text

His Tool will basically automate the entire process. You just supply the Full installer from Auto DMG and your current version of Casper Imaging. His blog has a lot of details and Ben is SUPER helpful!!!

Any time there is a OSX update...you can build a new NBI extremely fast. You also have an option to shrink the image. I can boot to my NBI in under 60 seconds.

nadams
New Contributor III

@TJ.Edgerly As per my post, I am already using AutoCasperNBI to build the NBI from a AutoDMG image and the Imaging app.

The issue is that the resulting NBI is 10gb and takes forever to boot. I haven't tried the "Reduce Image Size" option yet, because according to the documentation it should not be needed. I did create a package with it once, but it only reduced the image size from 10gb to about 6.5gb. What is the size of your NBI?