Bulk Clear Failed Commands with MySQL Event

chzar
New Contributor III

Background: I work as a Helpdesk Manager at a school with a 1:1 iPad Program. Our department was having a problem where failed commands seem to prevent further commands from completing successfully. It seems this is a common problem with JSS or APN. Whichever the case, me and a coworker created a MySQL event to clear all failed commands from the JSS database every night. I wanted to share this with the rest of the nation because a) it seems that other people are having the same problem and b) I am not a great database programmer and need the hivemind to help.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dev and I am not exactly sure how JSS uses its own database. I don't know if deleting the failed commands from the database actually makes JSS allow subsequent commands to complete or just makes them disappear from the JSS GUI. I simply have no way to test this for sure. However, in my experience it does seem to have the exact same effect as hitting the "cancel" button next to failed commands.

Tools Needed: MySQL Workbench - much easier to use than the MySQL terminal

Procedure: So the idea behind this is to create a stored procedure with the query we want to run and then to call it within a MySQL event. This is mostly so we can schedule the query to run on a schedule or call it whenever we want (mostly for testing). Open MySQL workbench and login (the user shouldn't matter but I used root). Open a new query and paste in the following:

DELIMITER //
CREATE PROCEDURE JSS_Cleanup ()
BEGIN #Removes failed commands from Mobile Device Management Commands SELECT COUNT(*) FROM jamfsoftware.mobile_device_management_commands where apns_result_status = 'Error'; DELETE FROM jamfsoftware.mobile_device_management_commands where apns_result_status = 'Error';
END //

DELIMITER ;