can i determine who's signed in to the native mail app?

kashaguilfoyle
New Contributor

Is there a way to create a group or report that will let us know who is signed in to the mail.app? 

We are in the process of implementing something new that we need to get this number for. I saw something about creating an EA but as a new JAMF admin, I'm still hesitant on if this is correct.

Any help is appreciated.

5 REPLIES 5

kgam
Contributor

I made the following extension attribute to display the default mail client but stopped using it again as I didn't find it 100% reliable. But maybe you can find some inspiration in it or have more luck using it.

user=$(/usr/bin/stat -f%Su /dev/console)
plist="/Users/$user/Library/Preferences/com.apple.LaunchServices/com.apple.launchservices.secure.plist"

if [ -e $plist ]; then
    client=$(defaults read $plist |grep -B 1 mailto |awk -F"\"" '/LSHandlerRoleAll/ {print $2}')
    if [ "$client" = "com.microsoft.outlook" ]; then
        echo "<result>Microsoft Outlook</result>"
    elif [ "$client" = "com.apple.mail" ]; then
        echo "<result>Apple Mail</result>"
    else
        echo "<result>N/A</result>"
    fi
else
    echo "<result>N/A</result>"
fi

exit 0

el2493
Contributor III

@kgam Can you share what wasn't working reliably with your EA? I was looking to achieve the same thing (moving away from a python EA) and inadvertently ended up writing an almost identical EA. It seems to work for me, though I've done very limited testing.

It's been a while now but as I remember I just started to see computers in the inventory, that I knew where using e.g. Apple Mail, report an empty EA back. My script seemed to work okay so not sure if it was the file I was checking against that was different on some computers. But in the end it turned out that very few users where using Apple Mail so I didn't really need the EA.

el2493
Contributor III

Thanks. My EA looks like this:

#!/bin/zsh