Command to undo changes to the lpadmin group?

daniel_kaminski
New Contributor III

Hey there. I've used the following command to allow non-admins to add and remove printers, but would like to know how to undo it:
dseditgroup -o edit -n /Local/Default -a everyone -t group lpadmin

I tried the following, but it did not reverse the effect:
dseditgroup -o edit -n /Local/Default -a admin -t group lpadmin

I've searched around and found lots of threads on how to enable non-admins to add printers, but no topics that discussed how to undo the change so any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor II

Not 100% sure, but I think the command would be something like

dseditgroup -o edit -n /Local/Default -d everyone -t group lpadmin

The -d tells it to delete that record (everyone) from the group lpadmin. Take a look at the dseditgroup man page for more info.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2

mm2270
Legendary Contributor II

Not 100% sure, but I think the command would be something like

dseditgroup -o edit -n /Local/Default -d everyone -t group lpadmin

The -d tells it to delete that record (everyone) from the group lpadmin. Take a look at the dseditgroup man page for more info.

daniel_kaminski
New Contributor III

Thanks!