Composer, Creating a package that will work on different usernames

ckeats
New Contributor II

I'm still new to Casper Composer but i noticed that if i made an adjustment to something in my user folder it wants to add that user folder name to the machine that runs that package.

Composer Snapshot Example: /User/Composercomputerusername/Desktop/test.img

Is there a way to make it install that package i built into the computers user folder and not the one that was created on the composer machine? Not sure if its an adjustment i need to make on the user computers end or the composer setup end. Also any other tips for composer is appreciated, so far i got most of the basics figured out.

Each one of my companies computers all have different usernames, /Users/tom/, /Users/frank/.....etc.

2 REPLIES 2

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Jamf Pro will do this for you, but your package will need to be built as a DMG, not a PKG format. Once done, you can enable the FEU (Fill Existing Users) option on the package in Casper Admin. When deploying in a policy, make sure the FEU option is enabled and when it installs, it will use your user folder as a wildcard to fill any user folders it finds in the same path.
IOW, if you capture something in /Users/admin/Library/Preferences/, when it gets pushed, it really deploys into /Users/<any user homes it sees here>/Library/Preferences/

If you wanted to only affect one home directory, say the logged in user, then you would need to instead move any files/folders you capture into a place like /private/tmp/, then pull them into Composer. Then create a postinstall script to add to Composer that would find the current logged in user's home path and move the files it installed into /tmp/ into their respective locations to the current user's home.