Configuration Policies - Restricted Payload

BobbyH
New Contributor

I am new to JAMF and my organization recently stood up an on-prem server and I am working out the management kinks so we can start applying policies to our iPads and Macs.

My problem: Whenever I attempt to set a configuration policy containing a 'restricted' payload, I get Failed Commands.

Command: Install Configuration
Error: The data couldn't be read because it isn't in the correct format.

I do not understand this error because it triggers whenever I alter the payload and whenever I leave it at the defaults. This happens if I push the configuration or attempt to apply it during device enrollment. This is a PreStage enrollment using DEP in Apple School Manager.

Everything else I tested a configuration profile with (Wi-Fi, Passcode, Single App Mode, etc.) seems to work. I even enabled and disabled the PreStage Enrollments options during my testing. However, I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong with the 'restricted' payload.

What am I missing?

Please advise.

4 REPLIES 4

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

I assume you're talking about the Restrictions payload in a Config Profile, like, the built in one, correct?

If so, can you possibly provide a breakdown of what is enabled/checked in the profile? I'm wondering if a simple process of elimination would work to narrow down what's causing the error.
Honestly, everything in that payload should work just fine, since it's something built in, and not a custom plist profile or the like, but I don't know if I've ever enabled all options in it, since it contains a lot of stuff. It's possible one of the items that is checked isn't jiving well with the machines it's being pushed to or something.

BobbyH
New Contributor