Creating an Alias

eculp
New Contributor

I'm new to writing scripts in OS X. I need to copy a file (or preferably an alias) to the user's desktop. It is our AUP (in PDF form) that the board has decided needs to be on the desktop. I want to set it up as a script so if the user deletes it, I can push it back out via every15.
Any help would be great fully appreciated.

Eric

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

So, there are several ways you can approach this one. Here are just two. I'm sure others will chime in with additional methods.

1- Copy the PDF file in question to your Desktop, open Composer and drag/drop it into an empty spot on the left. It will create a new Source and pull in the doc with a path like /Users/yourHomeFolder/Desktop/FileName.pdf.
Create a DMG (not PKG), upload to your JSS, then be sure to check the Fill Existing Users checkbox (optionally the Fill User Template one too) once its in Casper Admin.
Deploy it via a policy as a Once per User trigger (again making sure to check the FEU and/or FUT boxes) and the JSS will drop the PDf file to everyone's Desktop when they log in.

2- Drop the PDF file into a common location on your admin Mac, like /Users/Shared/
Follow the same steps as above to capture your PDF in Composer. You can build it as either a PKG or DMG this time.
Add to your JSS, add in a policy to get it deployed to your Macs, and then use the Run Command option in the Advanced tab of the policy to do something like this:

ln -s /Users/Shared/FileName.pdf /Users/$(who | awk '/console/{ print $1 }')/Desktop/FileName

The above creates an alias of the file in /Users/Shared to the current logged in users Desktop.