Enterprise connect?

RobertBasil
Contributor

We have been binding to AD forever, but it does have it's issues. Does anyone here use Enterprise connect?

Thoughts?

14 REPLIES 14

mhasman
Valued Contributor

+1 interested

roiegat
Contributor III

+1 interested as well. But we want to keep our AD binding as well. I really like the potential for the password sync issue. Seems like even though we tell our people how to properly change their passwords - they still get things out of sync.

chris_miller
Contributor

I've been using it for a couple months now. Works well to keep the Kerberos tickets alive with non-bound local users and bound AD users alike. Straight out of the box it works well. They have you jump through some hoops to be able to get it, including 2 days of professional services. However, that's not bad because they do some ninja like scripting to adapt how it works to best fit your needs and environment. It is now part of my standard image. Would love to see it as a regular part of macOS in the future.

roiegat
Contributor III

@csm0004 Is the price per year or one time price? I'm thinking about budgeting for it for 2017. Also, does the 2 days of professional services happen on company site, because that might be tricky with our company.

dgreening
Valued Contributor II

The price is essentially to pay for the Professional Services engagement which is required as part of the purchase. We have been using it for ~6 months now, and it has been working great! It really has made SSO work so much better as it keeps the users's Kerberos ticket alive.

RobertBasil
Contributor

@csm0004 and @dgreening ,

For those of you who are using it, if you don't mind us asking.... what was the cost for the two days of Professional Services Engagement? Is it completed on site or can it be done remotely?

Thanks!

dgreening
Valued Contributor II

I'm pretty sure it was ~$5,500. It is completed on-site by a PS engineer from the EC team.

ndobric
New Contributor