Finder settings

gadsden_flag
New Contributor III

I try to manage the settings of my clients Finder. I found a way to put a plist into a profile. It looks nice but cannot be modified by the user later on. So I’m looking for a way to set some defaults but let the user modify it if he or she likes.
The same with the dock. I prefer to set up the dock but the user should be able to add new items and get rid of some others.

Every hint I found is with older versions but none of them works on Big Sur.

Please help. I don’t think I’m alone with this issue.

BTW. I’m very new with JAMF, so be kind with a newbie. Thanks.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

As I mentioned above, you should consider using Dockutil for managing Dock items as it has much more functionality and flexibility around adding/removing Dock items.

As for adding stuff into the sidebar, good luck to you is all I can say. There's no easy way to do this. You're correct that sfltool doesn't work anymore. The bottom line is, even if they don't publicly admit it, Apple doesn't want us Mac admins messing with peoples Finder sidebars, and a few other hard to manage items. They've made it purposely difficult to control these.

Wish I could offer more, but a lot of us gave up on trying to add/remove items from the Sidebar a while ago because it has become nearly impossible to do, and frankly, isn't worth the time to do now.

View solution in original post

gadsden_flag
New Contributor III

At the end I go with this:

Installing outset and docklib

And then install this script

#!/bin/bash
default_dock_once="/usr/local/outset/login-once/default_dock_once.py"

#rm -rf "${default_dock_once}"

cat >"${default_dock_once}" <<EOF
#!/usr/bin/python

import os
from docklib import Dock

dock_apps = [
	"/System/Applications/System Preferences.app",
	"/Applications/Self Service.app",
	"/Applications/Google Chrome.app",
	"/Applications/MacPass.app",
	"/System/Applications/Notes.app",