How do I copy a file to the desktop?

jconrod
New Contributor III

I'm new to Jamf, so I'm hoping someone can help me figure out how to do something that should be pretty simple.

I work at a college.  We have computer labs with iMacs.  Some professors require students to use some Windows-only software, so I created a virtual Windows computer that people can connect to from an iMac.  They get to the virtual computer via a web browser.  I've been asked to put a shortcut to that website on the iMac desktops so that a user can log on to the iMac, double-click the icon on the desktop, and get to the virtual Windows computer.

How do I use Jamf Pro to push the shortcut to the lab iMacs in such a way that each user will have that shortcut when they use their individual Active Directory (AD) credentials to log on to the iMac?  I know how to create the icon that they will click on, but not where to put it so that each user will have it on their desktop or how to put it in that location with Jamf.

Thanks in advance for your help.

--Jeff

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Tapia
New Contributor III

not exactly what you are asking but would putting them (the URL to the website) in Self Service Bookmarks work?

This is in Jamf Pro "Settings -> Self Service -> Bookmarks" 

These bookmarks would be controlled by the Jamf Admin(s) and wouldn't be end user removable. 

It seems a Web Clip would be the way to go with your original ask. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Tapia
New Contributor III

not exactly what you are asking but would putting them (the URL to the website) in Self Service Bookmarks work?

This is in Jamf Pro "Settings -> Self Service -> Bookmarks" 

These bookmarks would be controlled by the Jamf Admin(s) and wouldn't be end user removable. 

It seems a Web Clip would be the way to go with your original ask. 

jconrod
New Contributor III