How to deploy .app

akurpios-euvic
New Contributor II

HI,

I'm a newbie here @ Jamf Pro. I need to deploy few .APP apps (like FileZilla). I've made a PKG via Composer 10.34.0, but It's failed during the installation. Can you provide me with some tips? Or Link if you have? I've tried to google documentation, but no luck with my case.

B/R
Alex

Best Regards
Inż. Aleksander Kurpios
Administrator Systemu / System Administrator
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

akurpios-euvic
New Contributor II

Yo,

What I have done and made it work was:

1. Unziped APP to Download folder,
  2. Open Composer,
  3. Monitor file system changes,
  4. Moved APP to Applications,
  5. Create Package software
  6. Left only /Applications/applicationsName.APP
    1. Didn't change anything in the permissions tab
  7. Make PKG

That's all.
Thank you for your quick support anyway, didn't think that this community is so respensive.

Best Regards
Inż. Aleksander Kurpios

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

merlin
New Contributor III

I'd upload the dmg file directly to composer with a post install script if a pkg is not available.

DMG_FILE="AppName.dmg"
DMG_PATH=/private/tmp/"$DMG_FILE"
VOLUME_PATH="/Volumes/App Name"
APP_NAME="AppName.app"

install_app() {
    hdiutil attach "$1" -nobrowse
    mounterr=$?
    if [[ ${mounterr} -eq 0 ]]; then
        cp -pPR "$VOLUME_PATH/$APP_NAME" "/Applications"
        copyerr=$?
        if [[ ${copyerr} -eq 0 ]]; then
            chmod -R 755 "/Applications/$APP_NAME"
            xattr -d com.apple.quarantine "/Applications/$APP_NAME"
        else
            echo "[✗] ERROR: App failed to install. 0_o" >&2
            cleanupfiles $1
            exit 1
        fi
    else
        echo "[✗] ERROR: Volume not mounted correctly. 0_o" >&2
        cleanupfiles $1
        exit 1
    fi
    cleanupfiles $1
    echo "  [✓] App installed - All Good =o)"
}

cleanupfiles() {
    hdiutil detach "$VOLUME_PATH"
    rm -f "$DMG_PATH"
}

install_app $DMG_PATH

exit 0