How to disable software update check in Mountain Lion? ASUS

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

Hi,

I am new to this, but I cant figure out how to stop our client machines (10.8.2) from checking for updates. I used composer and make a software update .dmg with my settings (set to not check) and FUT, etc. And that does not seem to work. We don't want them to check at all for any system updates or App store updates.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Steve

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

franton
Valued Contributor III

We have a policy that runs the following command once per machine:

/usr/sbin/softwareupdate --schedule off

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18

jarednichols
Honored Contributor

The ScheduleFrequency attribute of the com.apple.SoftwareUpdate.plist file controls the scheduling (in days) in Mountain Lion. I don't know if setting it to zero would disable it, but it's worth a try.

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

Is that a user setting only isn't it? I believe using composer did what you recommended, but I want to disable it so it does not check when at the login screen or during "power nap" or something.

jarednichols
Honored Contributor

You should be able to do it in the global setting.

franton
Valued Contributor III

We have a policy that runs the following command once per machine:

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

So as simple as creating a policy (under the Advanced tab, run command)? I will have to give that a try too. Sorry, I am very new at this whole thing...a bit overwhelmed!

franton
Valued Contributor III

Exactly it!

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

Awesome, thanks! I will get the hang of it eventually...

steventhemacman
New Contributor III

Apparently the command is not working, as we are still seeing the machines with that policy applied running out to apple's site....

jarednichols
Honored Contributor