Is LDAP the only way to populate User and Location in Jamf Pro?

jttavares
New Contributor III

I am not a network engineer or MS tech, so I don't know much on that end.   I have looked through the posts and can't seem to find any definitive answer on how I get the User and Location info populated in Jamf Pro when my Macs check in, if even possible.  I have spoken to our lead systems engineer and he does not want to maintain an LDAP server.  We are running a hybrid AD, as have on-prem AD and Azure.  Jamf Pro is federated, so techs log in using SSO.  From a high perspective, any advice on how to get this info from Azure or AD?  Is LDAP a game breaker for this or do I have other options I am obviously unaware of?   Thank You.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Samstar777
Contributor II

Hello jttavares,

Cloud Identity Provider is your answer:

Cloud Identity Provider provides below ability :-

Integrating Jamf Pro with a cloud identity provider allows you to access user data stored in the provider's configuration in an easy and secure way. You can do the following:

• Look up and populate user information for inventory purposes.

• Add Jamf Pro user accounts or groups from the cloud identity provider.

• Require users to log in to Self Service or the enrollment portal using their directory accounts.

• Require users to log in during mobile device setup using their directory accounts.

• Base the scope of remote management tasks on users or groups from the cloud identity provider.

For information about integrating with a specific cloud identity provider supported by Jamf Pro, see the following sections of this guide:

Here is the direct link for Azure Integration with Cloud Identity Provider along workflows and step to step guide.

Hope this will help..

-Samstar777 🙂

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

boberito
Valued Contributor

AD usually is the LDAP server

Samstar777
Contributor II

Hello jttavares,

Cloud Identity Provider is your answer: