Is my Execute Command wrong? MacOS cached upgrade install

apeacock
New Contributor

Hello folks,

I'm new to the Jamf world so forgive my noobiness.

I'm following this great guide of how to upgrade macos on client machines via Packaging and Deploying the macOS installer https://docs.jamf.com/technical-papers/jamf-pro/deploying-macos-upgrades/9.96/Packaging_and_Deployin...

I'm stuck on step 5, part 12. The Execute Command field. I don't understand why it's given an example of a file path, rather than the actually file path? I did some digging and it appears that the Cached packages are placed into /Library/Application Support/JAMF/Waiting Room, so I tried entering: /Library/Application Support/JAMF/Waiting Room/Install macOS Monterey.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall 

as the execute command but in the logs it says that it can't find the file path.

I tried navigating to the location on the client but for some reason us admins don't have permission to access it. Not sure if that has something to do with it.

Any advice is mega appreciated :)

Alex

9 REPLIES 9

vinu_thankachan
Contributor

Once the Installed cache policy got executed, The OS installer file will be moved to the desired location from the waiting room to The location from where you add the package to the composer when you create the PGK file.
So please check and update the /file path accordingly.

@apeacock 

On the install cache policy, the script should run after the cache is installed. Once the policy installs the cached install package it moves it to the application folder. Unless you specifically scripted your package to install elsewhere your script should be: 
'/Applications/Install macOS Monterey.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall' --agreetolicense

apeacock
New Contributor

@vinu_thankachan @rroy90 

I have checked the /applications/ folder of a test machine which cached the installer from the policy however I don't see it in there.

Thanks for the assistance!

Cheers

Alex

apeacock